Topography Of Kuwait

State of Kuwait is famous for its flat topography and slightly uneven desert. The land slopes gradually from the sea level in the east at the coast of the Arabian Gulf to the west and the southwest. The height of the southwestern corner reaches 300 meters above the sea level.

Small hills are spread in Kuwait, like along the ridge of Jal Al-Zour that overlooks the northern coast of Kuwait Bay. The height of this ridge reaches 145 meters. Also, there are Al-Laiyah and Keraa Al-Marw hills. Valleys, lowlands, that are locally known as Al-Khubarat, and sand dunes are found lot in Kuwait. Among the main valleys in Kuwait is Al-Baten Valley as well as Al-Sheqaq Valleys. The first stretches along the western borders of Kuwait, where as Al-Sheqaq Valleys are located in the northwestern part of Kuwait. Al-Khubarat Valleys are spread in different places. The most important of Al-Khubarat Valleys are Al-Rawdatain and Umm Al-Aish, which are located in the north.

Kuwait Islands

The nine islands pertaining to State of Kuwait are: Failaka Island, Bubiyan Island, Miskan Island, Warbah Island, Auhah Island, Umm al Maradim Island, Umm an Namil Island, Kubbar Island and Qaruh Island.

Failaka Island

The second largest Kuwaiti island. It stretches over an area of 48 square kilometers. The island gained its historical significance since ancient ages. Failaka Island was regarded as the center for providing ships with water and supplies. It was, also, considered a transit for Muslim pilgrims.


Bubiyan Island

The largest Kuwaiti island. Its total area reaches about 683 square kilometers, representing 5% of the area of Kuwait. The island is located in the northern east of Kuwait.


Warbah Island

The last island pertaining to Kuwait from the north. Its total area is 37 square kilometers. The island is characterized its sandy soil and low clay coasts.


Auhah Island

Located 4 kilometers away from Failaka Island in the eastern south. Its length is 800 meters and width is 540 meters.

Kubbar Island

A sandy unpopulated island, with low coasts. Its area reaches three quarters of one square kilometer. This island is located 29 kilometers off the coast of Fahaheel, south of Failaka Island. It is roughly 30 kilometers off the Al Zour coast.

Miskan Island

An unpopulated, low and sandy island. Its length is 1.206 kilometers and width is 800 meters.

Qaruh Island

The smallest southern Kuwaiti island. It is, also, the furthest island from the Kuwaiti mainland. This island acquired its name from the large amounts of petroleum sediments in the area, known as "Qar" in Arabic. These petroleum sediments come out of some parts and rocks of the island and are swept by the waves to the Kuwaiti coasts.

Umm Al Maradim Island

Last Kuwaiti island from the south. It gained its name from the "Maradim" birds that are found in great numbers on this island. Contrary to most of the other islands, ships can safely and directly anchor on its coasts due to the great depth of the sea surrounding the island. This island is located in the southern tip of the Kuwait maritime borders with the Saudi Arabia. Its length reaches 1.5 kilometers in the east and west and its width, 540 meters. It has an oval shape with a protruding armlet.

Umm Al-Namil Island

Said to have gained its name from the large number of ants found in it during Summer. Ants are known as "Namil" in Arabic. The island is rich in archaeological sites that are dated back to the Bronze Age, the Dilmun Era and the Islamic Age.


Kuwait Administrative Division

Kuwait is divided into six governorates:

  • Capital Governorate (Kuwait):The capital of Kuwait. This governorate includes the House of Government and the Cabinet. All Kuwait islands pertain to the Capital as well as territorial sea and waters of condominium.
  • Al Jahra: The largest governorate. It is regarded as an agricultural area.
  • Hawalli Governorate:Densely populated governorate by various segments of the society. Many Arab communities reside in Hawalli.
  • Al Farwaniyah Governorate:One of the smallest Kuwaiti governorates. Amongst its famous landmarks is Kuwait International Airport.
  • Mubarak Al-Kabeer Governorate:Took its name from the seventh Governor of Kuwait, Sheikh Mubarak Al Sabah. He was well-known as Mubarak Al Kabeer. It is the latest governorate regarding its date of foundation.
  • Al-Ahmadi Governorate: Named after the late Amir Ahmed Al Jabber. It is distinguished by the oil fields.